Home > Uncategorized > God is Faithful as CYMT comes full circle

God is Faithful as CYMT comes full circle

In 1999, I sat in church history class at Memphis Theological Seminary after visiting my friend Chad Kingsbury who was a frustrated youth minister that day. I was also frustrated with the lack of practical training and theological training I was receiving for my vocational call to youth ministry.

I wrote a vision for the Youth Ministry Institute that day as God placed it on my heart. I wrote of a place where youth directors could gain the core seminary knowledge while also learning the knowledge needed to fulfill their calls to work with youth. A place where folks could learn on the job as they work in the church. I also wrote that each person should have a mentor who can help them navigate the difficult waters of church ministry. For the past 3 years, we have been making that dream a reality.

This week, CYMT students began training at Memphis Theological Seminary. There classes are in the very room where I wrote that vision 10 years ago. I am astounded at God’s providence and Grace and faithfulness. I can’t wait to see where God takes us next, but today I stand in awe and thanksgiving.

Visit CYMT at www.cymt.org!

Categories: Uncategorized
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

